## PROCLAMATION TO CELEBRATE ELECTRO EELS ROBOTICS TEAM #66746

WHEREAS, The Electro Eels Team #66746 are a First Lego League Robotics Team from Troy. The team consists of seven students from Wass Elementary School and one student from Hill Elementary School. All of the students are currently in fourth and fifth grade; and

WHEREAS, The Electro Eels Team #66746 members are Jonathan Perez-Burns, Marcos Perez-Burns, Aalap Deshpande, Nivaan Gupta, Arjun Jadhav, Gnanadeepak Karnam, and Siddharth Nagadi from Wass Elementary School; and Myra Patel from Hill Elementary School. The Electro Eels coaches Nikhil Gupta and Miguel Perez are responsible for the different aspects of mentorship for the team, and mentor Richa Singh has been primarily responsible for the innovation project; and

**WHEREAS**, **The Electro Eels Team** won the Best Robot Game and the Championship Trophy at the Troy Sharkfest Qualifier in Troy; and won the Best Robot Game and the Championship Trophy at the Michigan State Championship in Mason, Michigan. The **Electro Eels** proudly represented Michigan in the World Festival in Houston, Texas, April 2025; and

WHEREAS, As part of the competition, in addition to the robot game and design, the **Electro Eels Team** also worked on an innovation project "The Lamprey Lure Buoy" aimed at helping with sea lamprey control in the Great Lakes and supporting the fishing community. Sea Lampreys are a large threat to our local Great Lake fishing communities. Their Lamprey Lure Buoy will help to control this problem by detecting and luring the juveniles away without killing them; and

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Weiming Li, Dr. Tyler Buchinger, Kristen Lounsbury, and Dr. Michael Wagner from Michigan State University have been their expert advisors for this project, interacting with the Team and providing valuable feedback. The Great Lakes Fishery Commission has also recognized their efforts, and they are very grateful for the support and encouragement from Great Lakes Fishery Commission Chair, Mayor Ethan Baker; and

**WHEREAS**, **The Electro Eels Team** are also very well-rounded, as they participate in community service projects such as food drives, beach cleanups, and promoting STEM; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, That the Mayor and City Council of the City of Troy hereby congratulate The **Electro Eels Team #66746** members Aalap Deshpande, Nivaan Gupta, Arjun Jadhav, Gnanadeepak Karnam, Jonathan Perez-Burns, Marcos Perez-Burns, Siddharth Nagadi, and Myra Patel; and adult coaches Nikhil Gupta and Miguel Perez, and mentor Richa Singh for working tirelessly to excel in the field of Robotics, bringing pride and positive recognition to the City of Troy; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Mayor and City Council of the City of Troy invite all residents to celebrate **The Electro Eels Team #66746's** achievements, wish them much success in all future endeavors, and thank them for being great role models for our community and exceptional advocates for the field of Robotics.

## Presented this 5<sup>th</sup> day of May 2025